11 Colorado College Tigers Freshmen Named To NCHC Academic All-League Team!


A league-high 11 incoming sophomores from Colorado College were tabbed for the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) academic all-league team on Monday, June 20.

Andrew Farny, Jake Emilio and Mason Bergh among the aforementioned 11 CC students bagged their spots in the all-scholar-athlete squad as they maintained a 3.5 grade-point average all through their first full year at the university.

Not too long ago, the conference confirmed that 98 student-athletes were drafted to 2015-16 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, and also confirmed that 33 out of the 98 individuals accumulated NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team honors, NCHC Hockey reported.

In order to make it to the all-league academic team, it is mandatory for a player to record a 3.0 GPA.

Check out the list of the CC honorees below:

David Radke
Tanner Ockey
Cole McCaskill
Nate Kwiecinski
Ben Israel
Trevor Gooch
Gregg Burmaster
Trey Bradley

Taking into consideration that the freshmen and first-year transfers were yet to complete their academic year, they were not qualified back in February when the conference announced its all-academic team. Including the freshmen - 19 out of 22 players of CC were honored for academics, TheGazette noted.

Overall 158 players were honored for the entire NCHC - an impressive hike of 30 players from last season (128).

The NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team opted to make a change in its policy from the first two seasons, now including any student-athlete who has been a part of the institution for at least a year and has achieved a minimum 3.50 cumulative grade-point average.

The Scholar-Athlete Team comprised of only eight members during NCHC's first two season - each member representing a separate school.

The NCHC Academic All-Conference initially only recognized those student-athletes who have accumulated at least 3.0 GPA and have completed at least a year at their institutions.

Colorado College's Sam Rothstein, Alex Roos, Peter Maric, Michael King, Matt Hansen, Luc Gerdes, Hunter Fejes, Zach Aman were among the 98 members of the 2015-16 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team.

© 2024 University Herald, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Join the Discussion
Real Time Analytics