University of Michigan Coach Requests The Obamas To Be Honorary Football Captains [VIDEO]


A University of Michigan Coach asks the Obamas to be the school's football team captains. Read on for more details.

Jim Harbaugh, the head coach of the University of Michigan Wolverines, asks former United States President Barack Obama and former first lady Michelle Obama to serve as the team's honorary captains The Obamas will have the chance to be written in sports books, aside from already conquering the political scene, this fall.

According to USA Today, former honorary captains include NBA legend Michael Jordan and New England Patriots' mythical quarterback Tom Brady. Baseball great Hank Aaron was once an honorary captain too.

While this may sound weird for many, some already expected it. For one, Coach Harbaugh already has a good relationship with the Obamas. He actually served on Michelle's education committee. In it, he has worked with her rallies in Detroit and Washington D.C.

Meanwhile, Coach Harbaugh and his wife Sarah were invited to one of the Obama's final parties as well. That particular event was held in January before the Obamas left the White House.

Per ABC News, Harbaugh was even in Washington last week. Reportedly, he spoke on behalf of the Legal Services Corporation about the legal aid for the underprivileged. He and his son Jay then met with the former United States President.

Aside from the Obamas, Coach Harbaugh has extended a Twitter invitation to Usher. For the record, the University of Michigan Wolverines have the most all-time wins and the highest winning percentage in college football history. They are known for their distinctive winged helmet, its fight song, its record-breaking attendance figures at Michigan Stadium, and its many rivalries, particularly its annual, regular-season-ending game against Ohio State.

Michigan began competing in intercollegiate football in 1879. The Wolverines joined the Big Ten Conference at its inception in 1896. Michigan has won or shared 42 league titles. The Wolverines claim 11 national championships, most recently that of the 1997 squad voted atop the final AP Poll.

© 2024 University Herald, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Join the Discussion
Real Time Analytics