Trending News

College Football Playoff Announces Jeff Long Will Step Down as Selection Chair


With the second annual College Football Playoff in the books, the selection committee announced Jeff Long would step down as chairman.

CFP Executive Director Bill Hancock confirmed the news to USA Today and CBS Sports, stating Long is expected to remain part of the selection committee. Hancock said the position of chairperson was intended from the start to last "one or two" seasons.

"Jeff was a terrific chairman," Hancock told USA Today. "He was the perfect choice to be the first chairman. He was a very effective leader inside the committee room and also an honest communicator outside it."

Comprised of the 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame's athletic director, Jack Swarbrick, the CFP management committee will now be tasked with naming a new selection committee chairperson, ESPN reported. They will also have to fill the seats of Tom Osborne, Mike Tranghese, Mike Gould, and Pat Haden.

The CFP later announced the appointment of another chairman, naming C.L. Max Nikias, president of the University of Southern California, the chair for the Board of Managers, replacing University of Nebraska-Lincoln Chancellor Harvey Perlman.

"Dr. Nikias has been instrumental in the development and growth of the College Football Playoff," Hancock said in the news release. "We appreciate his leadership and continued support. He is highly respected by his fellow presidents and chancellors and he will be an excellent chair.

"I also want to take this opportunity to thank Harvey Perlman for the time and energy he has devoted to the playoff. We have been fortunate to have been led by such talented people."

© 2024 University Herald, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Join the Discussion
Real Time Analytics