Sunday, Sep 25 2022 | Updated at 04:24 PM EDT

Stay Connected With Us F T R

Oct 16, 2013 03:22 PM EDT

College Football Selection Committee: Condoleezza Rice, and Others Announced Today


After much speculation and strong opposition to a certain member, the College Football Playoff selection committee has officially been announced, and yes, it includes Condoleezza Rice, ESPN reported.

The committee's job is to select four teams to play for the BCS National Championship in a final-four-style tournament. Each member will serve terms of approximately three years, but will not be paid. The terms for the first group will be staggered so not all of them will leave at the same time.

Aside from picking the four teams, the committee will rank and place teams into noncontract bowls on New Year's Day, such as the Cotton, Fiesta and Chick-Fil-A bowls.

To give the chance of a Cinderella story, the committee will also select the highest ranked champion from a non-major conference (American, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West and Sun Belt) to play in one of six CFB Playoff bowl games.

As reported by USA Today, here are the 13 committee members with a brief background.

Chair: Jeff Long, 54

Long is the athletic director for Arkansas and has previous held the same position at Pittsburgh and Eastern Kentucky, as well as senior positions at Oklahoma, Michigan and Virginia Tech.

Barry Alvarez, 66

Alvarez in Wisconsin's all-time leading coach in wins and has also been to 11 bowls, winning the coveted Rose Bowl three times.

Lt. Gen. Michael Gould, 60

Gould is a retired Superintendent at the United States Air Force Academy and former command pilot with more than 3,000 flight hours under his belt.

Pat Haden, 60

Haden is currently searching for a new head coach for USC, where he is the athletic director, but is also a former quarterback for the Trojans and for the Los Angeles Rams.

Tom Jernstedt

Jernstedt worked for the NCAA for 38 years and oversaw the men's basketball tournament Final Four and served on that playoff selection committee.

Oliver Luck, 53

Luck was a Rhodes Scholar finalist and a former quarterback for West Virginia and the Houston Oilers and his son, Andrew, was drafted first overall last year by the Indianapolis Colts.

Archie Manning, 64

Manning has two sons who were drafted first overall in the NFL draft - Peyton and Eli - but he himself is an all-time great passer at Ole Miss.

Tom Osborne, 76

Osborne led Nebraska to 13 conference championships and three National Championship wins in 1994, 1995 and 1997, a title his team shared.

Dan Radakovich, 54

Radakovich is Clemson's athletic director and previously held the position at American University and Georgia Tech.

Condoleezza Rice, 58

Rice is the former U.S. Secretary of State from 2005-2009 (George W. Bush), a Stanford grad, where she also served as provost, a Birmingham, Ala. native and Crimson Tide diehard.

Mike Tranghese, 69

Tranghese was the Big East's first commissioner and retired in 2008 after guiding it to become a major athletic conference.

Steve Wieberg, 59

Wieberg was among the first staff members when USA Today was founded in 1982 and served as a college football reporter there until 2012.

Tyrone Willingham, 59

Willingham coached for 32 seasons at Stanford, Notre Dame and the University of Washington.

See Now: Facebook will use AI to detect users with suicidal thoughts and prevent suicide

© 2017 University Herald, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Get Our FREE Newsletters

Stay Connected With Us F T R

Real Time Analytics