Young and Brightest Educators Opt for Innovation Award - You can Nominate Too!


Forbes '30 Under 30 in Education' now announces that the 2017 table for nominations is now open. This is an annual selection for the young and brightest educators worthy for the innovation award. They are the ones who have contributed and still vital in moving the education trend forward to cope with the rapidly changing world and systems.

The award is not restricted to teachers only. Already on its sixth year, nominees come from the different panels or foundation of education. Representatives originate from dorm facilities, mobile schools, cultural operators, venture investors, academic advocates, and enthusiasts.  

The criteria are so diverse for the choice although previous winners are noted to possess educational degrees or higher.  The Forbes nomination form is available at their website.

Forbes highlighted the equity funding raised by past winners for the improvement and development of their excellent projects. Nic Borg: for example who is the co-founder of Edmondo, a global K-12 training network generates $87.5 million in equity in terms of funds.

Sam Choudhary and Liam Don, founders of Class Dojo that serves as the connection for the student's teachers and families that started in 2011 has accumulated  $31 million in funding ventures up to the time of writing. Paradigm Strategy's, Carissa Romero was listed for the award ever since she was the Project for Education Research conducted at the Stanford University Research Center. Now, she's already doing consulting work for Slack and Airbnb.

Zakiya Smith of Lumina Foundation took pride in creating effective models to aid students in getting financial assistance for students wishing to continue their studies for advanced degrees. She's a Harvard Graduate School of Education alumna. Tammy facilitated 'She's the First', engaging American students with sponsoring for girls in deprived nations for their basic education. They now have 805 STF scholars. 

Judges include Laurene Powell Jobs of Emerson Collective, Wendy Kopp from Teach for All, Stacey Childress, New Schools Venture Fund CEO, David Coleman and Deborah Bial who founded Posse Foundation.

This is the kind of award that CNN hero Matthew Kaplan can aim for. He initiated an anti-bullying program called Be One Project after knowing his brother's experience from social media particularly Facebook.

The finalists will be posted on January 3, 2017, in Forbes' January issue. This is your opportunity to honor the educator who is vital to your success. Feel free to nominate and be proud.

© 2024 University Herald, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Join the Discussion
Real Time Analytics