Monday, Dec 11 2017 | Updated at 04:30 AM EST

Stay Connected With Us F T R

Mar 06, 2017 09:32 PM EST

Some Gluten-Free Diet Foods Can Be Toxic: Here's What You Can Eat Instead [VIDEO]

Close
We know smoking causes cancer. But do you know why?

As more and more people realize the importance of being healthy, the more diet foods are being produced and applied for daily intake. However, there's a looming danger with some of them and one should know more about it to prevent any serious complications - especially when it comes to gluten-free diet foods.

For starters, gluten-free diet foods are usually eaten by those who are looking to lose weight and those who are suffering from diseases like non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Not to be confused with celiac disease, a genetic autoimmune disorder that causes damage to one's small intestine upon ingestion of gluten food, non-celiac gluten sensitivity only makes one intolerant of eating gluten food and display symptoms like that of having a celiac disease, but without any serious complications.

Thus, it's now deemed even more important for one to know more about the kind of diet he/she is applying for his/her daily intake. According to Business Insider, a study done by epidemiologists from the University of Illinois in Chicago has found that those eating gluten-free diets have more arsenic and mercury in their body. The reason? Ingesting food with more rice than usual.

Further detailed on the same publication, it was also found that high levels of arsenic and mercury has been attributed to rice absorbing nutrients, as well as toxins, from the soil, water, fertilizers, and pesticides being used to grow them. It's also worth noting that having these toxins in your body - even in small amounts - can lead to cancer, heart failure, Type-2 diabetes, and psychological issues.

So, what can you do to prevent this from happening - aside from lessening rice intake? According to Celiac Disease Foundation, all you need to do is eat other natural gluten-free foods such as fruits, vegetables, meat, fish, poultry, seafood, dairy, and beans. Pure wheat and barley grasses are also considered gluten-free; however, it can be toxic with gluten when not harvested properly.

Check out the video below:

© 2017 University Herald, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

Join the Conversation

Get Our FREE Newsletters

Stay Connected With Us F T R

Real Time Analytics